Every cut on record in 2026, newest first
Each employer opens its page at the cut, with the employer's own words and the source.
| Announced | Employer | Roles | Was it AI? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 27, 2026 | SNDLOct 27, 2026 · CanadaNot linked to AI | Not disclosed | Not linked to AISource |
| Oct 22, 2026 | Just Eat TakeawayOct 22, 2026 · SwitzerlandNot linked to AI | Not disclosed | Not linked to AISource |
| Oct 20, 2026 | eBayOct 20, 2026 · United StatesLinked to AI: Named no AI reason; others linked it to AI | 1,000reported | Linked to AINamed no AI reason; others linked it to AISource |
| Oct 19, 2026 | IKEA FranceOct 19, 2026 · FranceNot linked to AI | up to 303 | Not linked to AISource |
| Oct 16, 2026 | LookieroOct 16, 2026 · SpainLinked to AI: Cited AI among other reasons | 50reported | Linked to AICited AI among other reasonsSource |
| Oct 14, 2026 | Rema 1000Oct 14, 2026 · NorwaySaid not related to AI | 130 | Said not related to AISource |
| Oct 13, 2026 | Carrefour PolskaOct 13, 2026 · PolandNot linked to AI | up to 210 | Not linked to AISource |
| Oct 12, 2026 | KrogerOct 12, 2026 · United StatesLinked to AI: Named no AI reason; others linked it to AI | 3,000reported | Linked to AINamed no AI reason; others linked it to AISource |
| Aug 31, 2026 | ZomatoAug 31, 2026 · IndiaLinked to AI: Named no AI reason; others linked it to AI | 250reported | Linked to AINamed no AI reason; others linked it to AISource |
| Aug 12, 2026 | Just Eat TakeawayAug 12, 2026 · NetherlandsNot linked to AI | ~220 | Not linked to AISource |
| Jul 8, 2026 | TargetJul 8, 2026 · United StatesNot linked to AI | Not disclosed | Not linked to AISource |
| Jun 22, 2026 | SSENSEJun 22, 2026 · CanadaLinked to AI: Named no AI reason; others linked it to AI | 12reported | Linked to AINamed no AI reason; others linked it to AISource |
| May 21, 2026 | GrouponMay 21, 2026 · United StatesLinked to AI: Cited AI among other reasons | 400reported | Linked to AICited AI among other reasonsSource |
| May 12, 2026 | WalmartMay 12, 2026 · United StatesLinked to AI: Denied the AI link others made | 1,000reported | Linked to AIDenied the AI link others madeSource |
| May 7, 2026 | JumiaMay 7, 2026 · NigeriaLinked to AI: Cited AI among other reasons | ~200 | Linked to AICited AI among other reasonsSource |
| Mar 4, 2026 | Just Eat TakeawayMar 4, 2026 · NetherlandsNot linked to AI | ~120 | Not linked to AISource |
| Feb 26, 2026 | OcadoFeb 26, 2026 · United KingdomLinked to AI: Cited AI among other reasons | ~1,000 | Linked to AICited AI among other reasonsSource |
| Feb 26, 2026 | eBayFeb 26, 2026 · United StatesNot linked to AI | ~800 | Not linked to AISource |
| Feb 25, 2026 | DoorDashFeb 25, 2026 · Qatar, Singapore, Japan, Uzbekistan, India, FinlandNot linked to AI | ~85 | Not linked to AISource |
| Feb 20, 2026 | LivspaceFeb 20, 2026 · IndiaLinked to AI: Declared the cut AI-related | 1,000reported | Linked to AIDeclared the cut AI-relatedSource |
| Feb 9, 2026 | TargetFeb 9, 2026 · United StatesNot linked to AI | 500 | Not linked to AISource |
| Jan 8, 2026 | MercadoLibreJan 8, 2026 · ArgentinaLinked to AI: Named no AI reason; others linked it to AI | 119reported | Linked to AINamed no AI reason; others linked it to AISource |
Show the 7 from earlier years
| Announced | Employer | Roles | Was it AI? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nov 12, 2025 | Just Eat TakeawayNov 12, 2025 · NetherlandsNot linked to AI | ~120 | Not linked to AISource |
| Sep 24, 2025 | Just Eat Takeaway |
Not every layoff in the industry: every cut the register found linked to AI, and the notable cuts it checked and found were not. Notable cuts not linked to AI have been checked every day since mid-October 2026, so earlier months list mostly AI-linked cuts. Employers are grouped by what they mainly do; the grouping is ours. Roles: the employer's figure unless marked; ~ means approximate.
Retail and e-commerce: every employer with a page
Frequently asked
Which retailers and online shops had layoffs in 2026?
Largest first: Kroger, eBay, Walmart, Ocado, Livspace, Target, Groupon, IKEA France, Zomato, Just Eat Takeaway, Carrefour Polska, Jumia and 6 other employers. The table above gives each cut's date, figure, what the employer said about AI and the source.
Layoffs this week, in every industryHow many retail layoffs in 2026 were linked to AI?
11 of the 22 on record. A cut is linked to AI when the employer named AI as a reason or credible reporting tied that cut to AI; the rest were checked and neither was true.
Who blamed AI, and who did notOther industries
With the cuts on record in 2026:
Get the week's layoffs by email
One free email a week: the job cuts of the last 7 days, with whether each was linked to AI, and the largest US WARN notices. Tracking cuts for work? Layoff alerts send them the day after, filtered by country, state and size: 14 days free.