Every cut on record in 2026, newest first
Each employer opens its page at the cut, with the employer's own words and the source.
| Announced | Employer | Roles | Was it AI? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nov 2, 2026 | EccoNov 2, 2026 · Portugal, Vietnam, DenmarkNot linked to AI | ~2,400press figure | Not linked to AISource |
| Oct 22, 2026 | ZenithOct 22, 2026 · SwitzerlandNot linked to AI | ~200press figure | Not linked to AISource |
| Oct 19, 2026 | PepsiCoOct 19, 2026 · United StatesNot linked to AI | 112 | Not linked to AISource |
| Oct 7, 2026 | Treasury Wine EstatesOct 7, 2026 · AustraliaNot linked to AI | ~170 | Not linked to AISource |
| Oct 1, 2026 | NikeOct 1, 2026 · GlobalNot linked to AI | Not disclosed | Not linked to AISource |
| Sep 24, 2026 | StarbucksSep 24, 2026 · United States, CanadaNot linked to AI | Not disclosed | Not linked to AISource |
| Sep 14, 2026 | PepsiCoSep 14, 2026 · United StatesNot linked to AI | 143 | Not linked to AISource |
| Aug 20, 2026 | PepsiCoAug 20, 2026 · United StatesNot linked to AI | 105 | Not linked to AISource |
| Jul 14, 2026 | PepsiCoJul 14, 2026 · United StatesNot linked to AI | 184 | Not linked to AISource |
| Jun 29, 2026 | British American TobaccoJun 29, 2026 · United KingdomLinked to AI: Cited AI among other reasons | ~5,500 | Linked to AICited AI among other reasonsSource |
| May 15, 2026 | StarbucksMay 15, 2026 · United StatesNot linked to AI | 300 | Not linked to AISource |
| Apr 23, 2026 | NikeApr 23, 2026 · GlobalNamed automation, not AI | ~1,400 | Named automation, not AISource |
| Apr 21, 2026 | StarbucksApr 21, 2026 · United StatesNot linked to AI | 61 | Not linked to AISource |
| Feb 25, 2026 | Groupe SEBFeb 25, 2026 · FranceLinked to AI: Cited AI among other reasons | 2,100reported | Linked to AICited AI among other reasonsSource |
| Feb 11, 2026 | HeinekenFeb 11, 2026 · NetherlandsLinked to AI: Cited AI among other reasons | ~5,000 | Linked to AICited AI among other reasonsSource |
| Jan 26, 2026 | NikeJan 26, 2026 · United StatesNamed automation, not AI | 775 | Named automation, not AISource |
Show the 1 from earlier years
| Announced | Employer | Roles | Was it AI? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jun 5, 2025 | Procter & GambleJun 5, 2025 · United StatesLinked to AI: Named no AI reason; others linked it to AI | 7,000reported | Linked to AINamed no AI reason; others linked it to AISource |
Not every layoff in the industry: every cut the register found linked to AI, and the notable cuts it checked and found were not. Notable cuts not linked to AI have been checked every day since mid-October 2026, so earlier months list mostly AI-linked cuts. Employers are grouped by what they mainly do; the grouping is ours. Roles: the employer's figure unless marked; ~ means approximate.
Food and consumer goods: every employer with a page
- Aramark layoffs
- British American Tobacco layoffs
- Compass Group layoffs
- Del Monte Foods layoffs
- Ecco layoffs
- Electrolux layoffs
- Frito-Lay layoffs
- Groupe SEB layoffs
- Heineken layoffs
- Lao Gan Ma layoffs
- Nike layoffs
- PepsiCo layoffs
- Procter & Gamble layoffs
- Sodexo layoffs
- Starbucks layoffs
- Treasury Wine Estates layoffs
Frequently asked
Which food and consumer brands had layoffs in 2026?
Largest first: British American Tobacco, Heineken, Ecco, Groupe SEB, Nike, Starbucks, Zenith, PepsiCo and Treasury Wine Estates. The table above gives each cut's date, figure, what the employer said about AI and the source.
Layoffs this week, in every industryHow many food and consumer goods layoffs in 2026 were linked to AI?
3 of the 16 on record. A cut is linked to AI when the employer named AI as a reason or credible reporting tied that cut to AI; the rest were checked and neither was true.
Who blamed AI, and who did notOther industries
With the cuts on record in 2026:
Get the week's layoffs by email
One free email a week: the job cuts of the last 7 days, with whether each was linked to AI, and the largest US WARN notices. Tracking cuts for work? Layoff alerts send them the day after, filtered by country, state and size: 14 days free.