Every cut on record in 2026, newest first
Each employer opens its page at the cut, with the employer's own words and the source.
| Announced | Employer | Roles | Was it AI? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nov 4, 2026 | Central Bank of IrelandNov 4, 2026 · IrelandNot linked to AI | ~120 | Not linked to AISource |
| Nov 2, 2026 | JPMorgan ChaseNov 2, 2026 · United StatesNot linked to AI | 91 | Not linked to AISource |
| Oct 31, 2026 | Wells FargoOct 31, 2026 · United StatesNot linked to AI | 87 | Not linked to AISource |
| Oct 30, 2026 | NatWestOct 30, 2026 · United KingdomLinked to AI: Named no AI reason; others linked it to AI | 1,000reported | Linked to AINamed no AI reason; others linked it to AISource |
| Oct 29, 2026 | INGOct 29, 2026 · GlobalNot linked to AI | ~400 | Not linked to AISource |
| Oct 27, 2026 | SwedbankOct 27, 2026 · Sweden, Estonia, Latvia, LithuaniaNot linked to AI | ~500 | Not linked to AISource |
| Oct 27, 2026 | NordeaOct 27, 2026 · PolandNo AI reason of its own | 32 | No AI reason of its ownSource |
| Oct 23, 2026 | American ExpressOct 23, 2026 · United StatesLinked to AI: Cited AI among other reasons | ~3,500 | Linked to AICited AI among other reasonsSource |
| Oct 22, 2026 | BarclaysOct 22, 2026 · United KingdomLinked to AI: Cited AI among other reasons | ~5,000 | Linked to AICited AI among other reasonsSource |
| Oct 22, 2026 | WestpacOct 22, 2026 · AustraliaSaid not related to AI | ~140press figure | Said not related to AISource |
| Oct 22, 2026 | Danske BankOct 22, 2026 · DenmarkNot linked to AI | 106 | Not linked to AISource |
| Oct 21, 2026 | Nationwide Building SocietyOct 21, 2026 · United KingdomSaid not related to AI | 275press figure | Said not related to AISource |
| Oct 20, 2026 | National Australia BankOct 20, 2026 · AustraliaLinked to AI: Denied the AI link others made | 2,500reported | Linked to AIDenied the AI link others madeSource |
| Oct 11, 2026 | One ZeroOct 11, 2026 · IsraelLinked to AI: Cited AI among other reasons | 25reported | Linked to AICited AI among other reasonsSource |
| Oct 9, 2026 | WestpacOct 9, 2026 · AustraliaNot linked to AI | 102 | Not linked to AISource |
| Oct 7, 2026 | HSBCOct 7, 2026 · United KingdomLinked to AI: Named no AI reason; others linked it to AI | Not disclosed | Linked to AINamed no AI reason; others linked it to AISource |
| Oct 6, 2026 | DNBOct 6, 2026 · NorwayLinked to AI: Cited AI among other reasons | ~400 | Linked to AICited AI among other reasonsSource |
| Oct 5, 2026 | OP Financial GroupOct 5, 2026 · FinlandNot linked to AI | up to 554 | Not linked to AISource |
| Sep 23, 2026 | Commonwealth BankSep 23, 2026 · South AfricaNot linked to AI | ~172union figure | Not linked to AISource |
| Sep 4, 2026 | The BancorpSep 4, 2026 · United StatesLinked to AI: Cited AI among other reasons | 64 | Linked to AICited AI among other reasonsSource |
| Jul 28, 2026 | Visa Inc.Jul 28, 2026 · United StatesLinked to AI: Cited AI among other reasons | ~2,600 | Linked to AICited AI among other reasonsSource |
| Jul 28, 2026 | Commonwealth BankJul 28, 2026 · South AfricaLinked to AI: Named no AI reason; others linked it to AI | Not disclosed | Linked to AINamed no AI reason; others linked it to AISource |
| Jul 11, 2026 | HDFC BankJul 11, 2026 · IndiaLinked to AI: Named no AI reason; others linked it to AI | 3,343reported | Linked to AINamed no AI reason; others linked it to AISource |
| Jul 3, 2026 | Starling BankJul 3, 2026 · United KingdomLinked to AI: Cited AI among other reasons | ~130 | Linked to AICited AI among other reasonsSource |
| Jul 2, 2026 | Commonwealth BankJul 2, 2026 · South AfricaNot linked to AI | 276union figure | Not linked to AISource |
Show the other 14 cuts of 2026
| Announced | Employer | Roles | Was it AI? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jun 29, 2026 | Nationwide Building SocietyJun 29, 2026 · United KingdomNot linked to AI | 600press figure | Not linked to AISource |
| May 28, 2026 | Danske Bank |
Show the 11 from earlier years
Not every layoff in the industry: every cut the register found linked to AI, and the notable cuts it checked and found were not. Notable cuts not linked to AI have been checked every day since mid-October 2026, so earlier months list mostly AI-linked cuts. Employers are grouped by what they mainly do; the grouping is ours. Roles: the employer's figure unless marked; ~ means approximate.
Banks and finance: every employer with a page
- ABN AMRO layoffs
- American Express layoffs
- Axis Bank layoffs
- Bank of America layoffs
- Barclays layoffs
- Bendigo and Adelaide Bank layoffs
- Capital One layoffs
- Central Bank of Ireland layoffs
- Citigroup layoffs
- Commerzbank layoffs
- Commonwealth Bank layoffs
- Danske Bank layoffs
- DBS Bank layoffs
- DNB layoffs
- Goldman Sachs layoffs
Frequently asked
Which banks and finance companies had layoffs in 2026?
Largest first: Intesa Sanpaolo, Standard Chartered, Barclays, American Express, HDFC Bank, Commerzbank, Visa Inc., National Australia Bank, Nordea, ING, Bank of America, NatWest and 16 other employers. The table above gives each cut's date, figure, what the employer said about AI and the source.
Layoffs this week, in every industryHow many bank layoffs in 2026 were linked to AI?
21 of the 39 on record. A cut is linked to AI when the employer named AI as a reason or credible reporting tied that cut to AI; the rest were checked and neither was true.
Who blamed AI, and who did notOther industries
With the cuts on record in 2026:
Get the week's layoffs by email
One free email a week: the job cuts of the last 7 days, with whether each was linked to AI, and the largest US WARN notices. Tracking cuts for work? Layoff alerts send them the day after, filtered by country, state and size: 14 days free.